I Love David Byrne


This week at True Stories is going to be incredibly special, as we will be paying respect to the night’s namesake, or rather the creator of the night’s namesake. What am I talking about? O-K this is what I am talking about…

In 1986 David Byrne, best known for being the lead-singer of Talking Heads, brought out the very amazing film, True Stories, accompanied by an album of the same name, by his band. That is why I called my night True Stories and that is why, this week, I have decided to celebrate this fantastic songwriter and general all around genius.

This week we are starting at 7.30, as we are showing Stop Making Sense, the best live performance recorded of any band ever in the smoking area, with free popcorn. Then from 8.30 onwards I am going to play some of my favourite songs that David Byrne ever recorded, either with his band, by himself, with Brian Eno, or some of the many amazing collaborations he has done with other artists.

For now here are some of my favourite songs that David Byrne has ever done in no particular order.

Talking Heads – This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)
David Byrne – Blue Hawaii
David Byrne & Fatboy Slim – Please Don’t (feat. Santigold)
Talking Heads – First Week/ Last Week…Carefree
Talking Heads – Don’t Worry About The Government
Dirty Projectors – Knotty Pine (feat. David Byrne)
Talking Heads – Moon Rocks
David Byrne – Glass, Concrete & Stone
Talking Heads – I Zimbra
N.A.S.A. – Money (ft. David Byrne, Chuck D, Ras Congo, Seu Jorge & Z-Trip)
Talking Heads – Thankyou For Sending Me An Angel
David Byrne – Dirty Old Town
Talking Heads – Papa Legba
Talking Heads – Seen and Not Seen

1 Comment

Filed under Tuesdays: Bernard Shaw

One response to “I Love David Byrne

  1. Nice one. For a sec I thought you were paying tribute to Dave Byrne of Mr Jones fame.

Leave a Reply

